I have experienced a hot and humid Dominican Republic before, but never one this wet! Thankfully, God has kept away the rain in the mornings during Vacation Bible School, sent it down hard during lunch when can be covered and enjoy a restful lunch, and allowed us to still get everything done in the afternoons with work on the construction site, the teen girls  Bible study, the door to door evangelism, and my dance classes! I was so nervous that the rainy skies would keep the girls away, but yesterday and today we had a full class of almost 40 excited dancers! When I was little, my mom told me that it rains because the trees are thirsty. They must be really, really thirsty this week. But a little rain can’t keep us down! 

I don’t even know where to begin in describing my time here so far… The only thing I can say is that when I’m in Cotui, I fully understand Matthew 19:14 when Jesus said “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” I see heaven on earth when I look at their silly smiles. I know God as Perfect Father when I hold their sticky hands. I feel the indescribable compassion of Jesus, just for a moment, when I give them hug after hug after hug. 

Dance classes have been amazing so far. I chose to use the song “I Am Free” because it has a strong beat and a really great energy. Today the girls and I talked about what it means to be free in Christ. Because of what Jesus did on the cross, we are free to have an intimate relationship with our Creator. According to the girls, we are also free to go to school, to play, to run around, to dance, to have friends, to do the dishes and mop the floors, to learn new things, to have friends, and to learn about God. They definitely taught me something about freedom. With this in mind, we danced with total abandonment and pure joy. There is nothing better than jumping around and shaking our hips and lifting our hands and twirling around, all together in a cramped and sweaty room with rain leaking in and music playing loudly and English mixing with Spanish, but nobody cares because nothing matters except dancing! I can’t think of anything better than that. 

